Skip to content

The Ultimate Sausage Roll – Bake it!

Martha is baking up a frenzy!

It wouldn’t be a party at our house without my famous Pork & Fennel Sausage Rolls.

In fact, I have to make an extra batch just for Glamourdadi and the Kiddos or else there’d be none left for guests.

I am harassed into baking them for every occasion, and always get asked for the recipe.

So here it is!

I wish I had invented it (much like Post-Its) , but the truth is I just Googled.

You can find it online here.

If you have a Thermomix, then throw the onion, garlic and fennel into the bowl and chop on Speed 7 for 5 seconds.

Add the oil and saute on Varoma for 5 minutes till fennel is soft.

Don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty!

TIP: I couldn’t be fanged using piping bag as the recipe suggests. I just roll out the filling and mould them into sausage like logs.

TIP: When rolling, use the blue plastic film the pastry comes on to help roll it snugly.

Yes, I am aware they look like turds at this point.

(Did I just say “turd” on my blog? Yup.

Well, we’re immune to toilet talk, right?!)

TIP: Each pastry roll should make 7 small pieces when cut

TIP: This is a good time to enlist the help of your favorite Preschooler. Have them whisk the egg wash…

… and then paint it on!

I forgot to sprinkle on the fennel seeds today, but the Kiddos usually just pick them off anyway!

Happy baking!

What party recipes are you always asked for?

Kate xx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

